Issues with Privateer Remake

Forum For Privateer Remake
hoam
Explorer
Explorer

Issues with Privateer Remake

Post by hoam »

Hey all, I'm new to the remake but still holds itself pretty well so far. However, I've run into a few problems

1) The intro cutscene has no sounds at all, and is quite choppy. Is this normal?

2) I hardly get any sounds or ambience in-game. There are only a few sounds, such as the laser's pew-pew sound, the docking voice, and the speeches of NPCs in the planets/facilities. Basically, the game is just very quiet

3) When accepting a mission and going back to in-flight, the text moves very quickly. Easily solved though, by just pressing page up, but its still a minor inconvenience

Despite these problems, I appreciate the hard work gone into the remake. Manual is comprehensive too :)
Vandrvekn
Trader
Trader

Post by Vandrvekn »

>>>Hey all, I'm new to the remake but still holds itself pretty well so far. However, I've run into a few problems

1) The intro cutscene has no sounds at all, and is quite choppy. Is this normal? <<<

I had this same problem when I started. Dropping screen resulotion to 800x600 fixed it for me.
z30
Expert Mercenary
Expert Mercenary

Post by z30 »

Vandrvekn wrote:>>>Hey all, I'm new to the remake but still holds itself pretty well so far. However, I've run into a few problems

1) The intro cutscene has no sounds at all, and is quite choppy. Is this normal? <<<

I had this same problem when I started. Dropping screen resulotion to 800x600 fixed it for me.
My rig only has 256 RAM and a 1.5 Ghz CPU and the graphics card isn't top notch either. Did the same thing, dropped to 800x600 but also cut the color depth down to 16bits.

Other settings are No Specular, High Detail and VBO. The last made a big difference in how the game ran for me.

I have no problems with the cutscene and heavy animation due to multiple bogies firing a zillionlaser bolts and guided missiles don't cause it to hang up anymore.
Vexator
Star Pilot