damage model

Discuss the Star Trek mod(s) for the Vega Strike Engine

Moderators: tillias, Jennos, peteyg

Ron Losey
Merchant
Merchant

damage model

Post by Ron Losey »

I'm new to this page, so somebody may have pointed this out before.

I have noticed one thing on the Trek mod that does not fit the Star Trek feel. In the Trek series, ships seldom just explode after taking a certain level of damage. Occasionally, a critical hit or a self-destruct sequence would rip one to bits - but it was not common. More often, the ships would take damage in terms of crew casualties and critical system losses until the craft was no longer viable (or only minimally operational). Then, the ships were often boarded in order to be captured. If not, the surviving crew were left to try to organize some form of escape or repair, or if that was not possible, just wait for life support to completely fail.

I don't know if you can do this in a game. The logistics of modeling hull damage into a string of systems (shields, weapons, life support, warp, impulse, and crew casualties - killed and wounded) could be more than the game engine can handle - especially if you try to accurately degrade the effectiveness of each system after each hit. The logistics of sending crew to capture an enemy ship could be even harder, especially if the possibility of moving crew/boarding party/prisoners back and forth comes into play. Even the possibility of surrender would probably add some game-code issues.