mesher.exe problems

This is the location for all mods to collaborate. Anyone making or planning their own mod should post help requests, screen shots and news here.

Moderators: Omega, tillias, Mod Contributor

Post Reply
w03
Mercenary
Mercenary
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:47 am

mesher.exe problems

Post by w03 »

When I use the command obc on mesher, it gives me an error message that says: The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal instruction. CS:11f3 IP:0221 OP:63 74 73 0d 0a Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

What is going on?

By the way, I'm running it on Windows Vista with blender created obj + mtl files.
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1567
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:03 am

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by pheonixstorm »

can you zip the file you have the error on and point me to the mesher download so I can try and debug it?
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by chuck_starchaser »

I noticed a bug with mesher when working in Ubuntu, whereby it sometimes adds an empty

Code: Select all

       ="" 
along with the list of textures and all that, as it appears after converting to xmesh.
If you miss it and it stays there, when you try to convert back to obj it segfaults. You have
to remove the ="" manually from the xmesh file before doing anything else.
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by klauss »

Please, make a ticket.

Although I won't be able to look into any ticket this weekend, so if you want to inspect it yourself, you'll find the code that generates the xml around here.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
charlieg
Elite Mercenary
Elite Mercenary
Posts: 1329
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2003 11:51 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by charlieg »

I always thought mesher.exe was a candidate for a rewrite in Python...

I actually had a hunt for the cpp source the other day. It's hard to find. (Any hints?)
Free Gamer - free software games compendium and commentary!
FreeGameDev forum - open source game development community
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by chuck_starchaser »

Ticket filed. #16
Don't understand much in that code, but this stood out in my eyes,

Code: Select all

  250                 if (texindex)
  251                     if (isxmesh)
  252                         fprintf( Outputfile, "%d", texindex );
  253                 if (isxmesh)
  254                     fprintf( Outputfile, "=\"%s\" ", texname.c_str() );
If textname was empty, it would print ="" it seems to me. I see not test for texname, but maybe I missed it.
As for there being nothing before the equal, that could happen if isxmesh is true, but texindex is null.
So, maybe the intent was that this should go like,

Code: Select all

if( texindex && isxmesh && !texname.is_empty() )
    fprintf( Outputfile, "%d=\"%s\" ", texindex, texname.c_str() );
Ehm... %d, that's a number... Never mind; I've no idea.
klauss
Elite
Elite
Posts: 7243
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 2:40 pm
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by klauss »

I think you're close.

Take a look at line 235, the switch(textype). If textype doesn't match anything (ie: it's the technique :shock: ), then it won't output the name of the attribute that will be written at line 252.

I believe there should be a default: that bails out with an error. And the TECHNIQUE kind added to the switch, of course.

Sorry I don't have time to do it (and test it) myself. I'm preparing for a trip and I thought I'd check the forum first.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by chuck_starchaser »

No problem; I'll try and see if I can fix it. Either way, have a good trip! :D
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by chuck_starchaser »

Alright, w03, if you're still around, try svn up and make again; see if it works now.

Ooops! You're on Windows... Pheonix, can you build mesher?
w03
Mercenary
Mercenary
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:47 am

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by w03 »

Finally back on again! Anyway, I found a temporary solution to the problem, as when I run obj + mtl files, mesher automatically converts them to bfxm and saves it as output.bfxm in generatedbsp. I'll try methods suggested here to get a more convenient solution, however. Thanks!
chuck_starchaser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 8014
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: mesher.exe problems

Post by chuck_starchaser »

There's a mesher binary for windows, now, that shenle compiled; it's in /trunk/win32/.
But if you svn co /win32 it will try to pull all of data on you; so I'd advice that you
check-out /trunk/win32/mesher.exe explicitly.
There's also a new vegastrike.exe there; I'd imagine you're using that one, already?
Well, perhaps not; you'd need to check out svn data head to work with that.
Post Reply