subunits

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.
Post Reply
FlyingAce
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:17 am
Contact:

subunits

Post by FlyingAce »

I'm losing my mind trying to get these subunits for the promethus to work. I have

<Subunit file = "bottom" x="4" y="0" z="0" ri = "-0.700623" rj = "-0.135113" rk = "0.700623" qi = "-0.055878" qj = "0.989282" qk = "0.134902"></Subunit>

in the unit file for the main unit. however the subunits never appear.

here is what's in bottom(.xunit)

Code: Select all

<Unit scale="7.00000">

<Mount   x="-0.526000" y="-6.62934" z="-13.8920" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="0.712000" y="-6.62934" z="-13.8920" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="5.80400" y="-2.07134" z="-6.41400" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="-5.86800" y="-2.07134" z="-6.41400" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="3.06000" y="-2.07134" z="-1.50400" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="-2.89600" y="-2.07134" z="-1.50400" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="-2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="-3.11200" y="-1.85333" z="-0.561997" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="-3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />
<Mount   x="3.07800" y="-1.85333" z="-0.561997" ri="0.00000e+0" rj="2.00000" rk="-7.96077e-6" qi="0.00000e+0" qj="-3.98038e-6" qk="-1.000000" weapon='PhaserBeam' size='Light Medium Heavy' />

<Meshfile file="Prometheus_bottom_section.xmesh"/>

	<Thrust >
		<Engine Afterburner = "30000000" Forward = "9000000" Retro = "18000000" Left = "90000000" Right = "90000000" Top = "90000000" Bottom = "90000000"  >
		</Engine>
		<Maneuver yaw = "10000000" pitch = "1000000" roll = "20000000"  >
		</Maneuver>
	</Thrust>

<Defense>
  <Armor front = "2500" right = "2250" left = "2250" back = "2400"  />
  <Shields front = "20000.0000" right = "20000.0000" left = "20000.0000" back = "20000.0000" recharge = "200.0000"  />
  <Hull strength = "15000.0000"  />
</Defense>

<Sound> </Sound>

	<Computer yaw = "20.000000" pitch = "25.000000" roll = "30.000000" afterburner = "8000" maxspeed = "300" >
		<Radar itts="true" color="true" range="1000000" error="0" TrackingCone = ".05" lockcone = "0"  >
		</Radar>
	</Computer>
	<Energy >
		<Reactor recharge = "700" limit = "30000"  >
		</Reactor>
	</Energy>	
<Stats mass = "3000" momentofinertia = "3500" fuel = "2000000000000"  ></stats>


<Jump delay="2" jumpenergy="150" />
</Unit>
I don't particullary care where it appears now just that it appears.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

rename the file to bottom.xml and open it with mozilla/IE/whatevercanverifyXML.
There are some XML-bug in it:

Code: Select all

XML Parsing Error: mismatched tag. Expected: </Stats>.
Location: file:///H:/test/prometheus_bottom.txt.xml
Line Number 37, Column 74:<Stats mass = "3000" momentofinertia = "3500" fuel = "2000000000000"  ></stats>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------^
This may cause that it doesn't load.

Pontiac
FlyingAce
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:17 am
Contact:

Post by FlyingAce »

@hellcat- in this thread you say to use 1 unit and 2 subunits for the prometheus and in this thread you say to use 3 subunits. which is it?
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

hmmm well I think pick the main part of the ship...
then have the other parts be subunits of it :-)
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
FlyingAce
ISO Party Member
ISO Party Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 1:17 am
Contact:

Post by FlyingAce »

subunits work great, however, when I offset the bottom and top sections in the subunit tag, their weapon mount locations are not offset.
pontiac
Elite
Elite
Posts: 1454
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:24 pm
Location: Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy
Contact:

Post by pontiac »

FlyingAce wrote:subunits work great, however, when I offset the bottom and top sections in the subunit tag, their weapon mount locations are not offset.
Are their mount-locations defined in the subunits-unitfile or in the base unitfile?

EDIT:Silly me, got the bottom.xunit.......so you setted up the mounts in teh subunits, but they don't move with the subunit? This should really not happen. :?

Pontiac
hellcatv
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3980
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 4:53 am
Location: Stanford, CA
Contact:

Post by hellcatv »

this stuff works fine on the turrets for instance
mabye the exporter didn't think the polygons moved to the new location

did you try putting them all at the center and then adjusting the mount positions later by hand?
Vega Strike Lead Developer
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/
Post Reply