Page 1 of 3

0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:37 pm
by klauss
0.5.1 beta2 release is out the door.

We'll receive bug reports, as usual, and if enough is fixed to warrant an 0.5.1 rc1 we'll be releasing a release-candidate before the final release is made. However, I'm confident we'll be able to go directly to the final release :D

We're using OpenSUSE's Build Service (OBS for short), and the packages are there already, so if you installed from OBS you should be able to update rather easily (hopefully, even with delta rpms :D ) - not all repos have been tested, so if you're on one of the unlucky ones to spot a packaging bug, please post on the bug tracker ASAP.

vegastrike-music was unchanged so you don't have to update. If you're installing from scratch, just install the 0.5.1.beta1 version - it works just fine.

Linux

You can look for the packages in OBS' search interface, or you can set up the repos from the urls below (which is the best way to get updates):

For the most popular linux distros (available in OBS), we have zypper/deb repos: Other distros

If your distro is not on the list, source tar balls and data packages can be downloaded directly from sourceforge:
Instructions for building from source and installing data from the tarballs in your home folder would go like this, assuming you've downloaded the pertinent tarballs and dependencies already:

Code: Select all

~$ mkdir vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2
~$ tar xvjf vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2
~$ cd vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2$ mkdir build
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2$ cd build
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ cmake ..
...
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ make
...
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ cd ../../vegastrike-0.5.1.beta1
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ mkdir bin
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ cp ../vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build/{vegastrike,vegaserver,setup/vssetup,objconv/mesh_tool} bin/.
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvjf ../vegastrike-data-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2 --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvjf ../vegastrike-extra-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2 --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvf ../vegastrike-music-0.5.1.beta2.tar --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvf ../vegastrike-speech-0.5.1.beta2.tar --strip-components=1
...
You can obviously skip the unpacking of the optional download packs.

Windows

Windows Installer now up for download! You can download from SourceForge download area.

Important notice: the win64 version is not actually released on SVN yet. The VC9 solution for compiling the 64bit vegastrike binary needs to be finished first. Some dlls have been compiled for the new 64bit exe but the process is not complete.

Bug reports

Many distros (not all) have a vegastrike-debuginfo or vegastrike-dbg package you can use to install debugging info and provide better stacktraces for bug reporting - please, when reporting a crash-type bug, install that package and run vegastrike through gdb:

Code: Select all

$ gdb --args vegastrike --debug=3 2>stderr.txt
(gdb) run
...
Segmentation Fault
(gdb) bt full
<paste this in your bug report>
Also include all information about which distro and platform you're running, GPU brand and model, driver versions, the output of the "glxinfo" command, the captured output of vegastrike itself (stderr.txt from the above commands), all of which could potentially include useful information for tracking down the bugs.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2012 9:19 am
by log0
Running on intel with ps2.0 shaders, thanks :)

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:06 pm
by pheonixstorm
I've been sick as have the kids. I'm working on getting a windows release out hopefully today. Will also try to compile a changelog as well.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:42 pm
by klauss
The changelog is done already, it goes like this:
  • Intel MESA DRI fixes
  • Fixed beam weapons
  • Fixed repair bot levels
  • Cargo mules - allow cargo inside fleet vessels
  • Offline Vertex de-duplication by mesh_tool
  • Fixed "-d" option, supporting alternate data dirs
  • Set correct unit for cargo on vdu manifest.
    Should be m^3 for cubic meters, not m^2.
  • navcomputer enhancements
  • python module cleanups
  • vdu panel backdrops to improve panel readability
  • shader fixes, especially for intel gpus
  • new cargo and weapon images
  • Fixed broken normals for several units
  • Normalmaps for most units
  • Some smaller fixes and enhancements and code cleanup
  • Patches #3211661, #3250877, #3353864, #3353868, #3376191,
    #3376207, #3373653, #3373650, #3372844, #3373595, #3373583,
    #3438260, #3372847, #3372846, #3372837, #3372839, #3372494,
    #3372591, #3372832, #2121764, #3211810, #3217829, #3286893 applied
  • Issues #3211697, #3315526, #3413675, #3413685, #3434184,
    #3440480, #3440493, #3441556, #3311033, #3462191, #3325181,
    #3191110, #3473367, #3325177, #3208662, #3325183, #3395671,
    #3306551, #3429854, #3325182, #3325698, #3199009, #3191110
    #3471044, #3376610, #3442608, #3465565 fixed

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:43 am
by Nexusforever
Question:

Why wouldn't you use alien to convert some of the RPM packages to DEB packages, just host the DEB packages on your servers, and leave the RPM packages on the OBS servers?

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:53 am
by pheonixstorm
klauss wrote:The changelog is done already, it goes like this:
  • Intel MESA DRI fixes
  • Fixed beam weapons
  • Fixed repair bot levels
  • Cargo mules - allow cargo inside fleet vessels
  • Offline Vertex de-duplication by mesh_tool
  • Fixed "-d" option, supporting alternate data dirs
  • Set correct unit for cargo on vdu manifest.
    Should be m^3 for cubic meters, not m^2.
  • navcomputer enhancements
  • python module cleanups
  • vdu panel backdrops to improve panel readability
  • shader fixes, especially for intel gpus
  • new cargo and weapon images
  • Fixed broken normals for several units
  • Normalmaps for most units
  • Some smaller fixes and enhancements and code cleanup
  • Patches #3211661, #3250877, #3353864, #3353868, #3376191,
    #3376207, #3373653, #3373650, #3372844, #3373595, #3373583,
    #3438260, #3372847, #3372846, #3372837, #3372839, #3372494,
    #3372591, #3372832, #2121764, #3211810, #3217829, #3286893 applied
  • Issues #3211697, #3315526, #3413675, #3413685, #3434184,
    #3440480, #3440493, #3441556, #3311033, #3462191, #3325181,
    #3191110, #3473367, #3325177, #3208662, #3325183, #3395671,
    #3306551, #3429854, #3325182, #3325698, #3199009, #3191110
    #3471044, #3376610, #3442608, #3465565 fixed
Yeah I saw the list, but I was going to expand the issue # xxx and acually give a little detail and see if anything was missed.

Something more like
Graphics
* Fix normals for MK32 BS
* Fixed yadda
yadda yadda

Anyway, may just leave it as you have it.. either way, i've got a new compile for VStrike, VServer (did not like adding the new flykb_server file) and VSetup. Just need to build the installer now.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:01 am
by klauss
Nexusforever wrote:Question:

Why wouldn't you use alien to convert some of the RPM packages to DEB packages, just host the DEB packages on your servers, and leave the RPM packages on the OBS servers?
Because obs handles it just fine, and different distributions use different paths. It's especially true in dfbian. And, soon, obs will even generate deltas.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:21 am
by Gungnir
Intel MESA DRI fixes
YES! I'll try this ASAP.

Unfortunately, Apper is failing at life right now, so it'll be a little while.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:17 am
by Blackbeard
Downloaded the win32 module this morning. :D

However it didn't come with the data, maybe I got it from the wrong place? I downloaded win32 from the sourceforge repository here. As I had an earlier subversion on another machine from a few weeks back I copied the data directory onto my computer via usb drive. The box I copied from was a linux, whereas my box is a win 7, so apart from being a month or so old, could this cause any problems?

Anyway, I've played it for a few hours and I was pleasantly surprised to note that bounty hunting was much more profitable. :twisted: However after a bit it got a little boring, but maybe that's because I'm such an awesome pilot. :wink: Capital ships like Thales are much more of a challenge than before, they actually use their guns now. :shock: This was a bit of a surprise, but I was able to come out on top in a 3-1 battle against some pirate Thales in my Llama.begin... then I came off worst after a scrap with a fourth. :(

But after playing 0.5.0, it's quite a fun experience :). So thanks very much guys. :D

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:04 pm
by klauss
Any news on the windows front?

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:06 pm
by Mr. Fahrenheit
If you mean 'windows feedback in general'...

I've goofed around with the 32-bit release on Windows 7 64-bit, and it seems very stable. My system is a Q6600 intel (4 core), 8Gb ram, let's say an Nvidia 9600gt (or something) graphics card.

Off the top of my head:

No more issues with processor affinity, previously I ran things from a command-prompt shortcut to prevent processor hand off (which made the game crash), that is no longer necessary.

Overall, startup time seems much quicker.

When mucking around near planets, there seems to be a pretty large framerate drop off if there are animated cloud patterns.

I have (once) encountered a bounty target stuck at the heart of a planet. For giggles I tried actually reaching it, but blew up: I assume when I struck the planet / atmosphere / arbitrary "you're dead" boundary.

I don't think I have had a single crash using the 0.5beta2 release. So kudos all!

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:17 pm
by klauss
Mr. Fahrenheit wrote:When mucking around near planets, there seems to be a pretty large framerate drop off if there are animated cloud patterns.
I'm guessing you're using extreme shader and detail?

I would imagine a 9600 should be able to handle at least highest shader with good frame rates. I remember, back when my 9800 hadn't caught on fire yet, it handled extreme without much fuss. Maybe a tad low on FPS, but that was expected as 9800 is high end but old.

Comparing specs, at extreme shader and unlimited textures, I'd guesstimate the 9600 should do around 10fps... right?

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 7:02 pm
by Mr. Fahrenheit
Yup, good guesstimate. Somewhere between 10 & 20 fps IIRC. I'll try and find an appropriate cloudy planet and double check.

Some of the refactored graphics look really nice too.

One other thing I just remembered: a suggestion might be to change how the HUD scales to larger screens. While the slightly-contrasted transparent boxes help with visibility, they end up eating a lot of real estate as the screen size increases (think I am running 1900x1080). --But that is not a windows-specific thing I am sure.

Again, overall stability seems really good to me.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:08 pm
by loki1950
(think I am running 1900x1080)
That would be 1920x1080 :wink: and I run a 9800 gt and have no slow downs with the extreme shaders and your observation on the the VDU screens on the HUD are right on.And I don't think that much thought was given on how they scale as they can be moved about the screen quite easily and some dropped completely as they are controlled by the cockpit file folders ATM we use the disabled cockpit the files and their various functions can be found on the wiki so if you feel the urge go ahead and tweak all you have to do is keep a back up of any file you edit.

Enjoy the Choice :)

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:14 pm
by klauss
Yes, fluid cockpit layouts would be nice, but that would be a major new feature for 0.5.2 at least.

Mac help, please

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:20 am
by betelgeuse
Hello,

I really love this game, and I've been playing it off and on for a couple years. Great work!

Can I download the beta 2 for my Mac? It appears to only download a 0.5.0 version still.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2012 2:17 pm
by klauss
I'm trying to recruit some mac lovers to do the building, but I've had no luck yet.

At the moment, mac users will be forced to build from source.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:04 pm
by Mr. Fahrenheit
>> That would be 1920x1080 and I run a 9800 gt and have no slow downs with the extreme shaders

I finally had a chance to fly around for a bit (and also found those missing 20 pixels :wink: ) and here's what I found, as far as FPS around various planets:

Confirmed that most planets cause no fall off in rendering, and I maintain somewhere around 60 fps all the way until docked (includes types like University, Arid Methane, Trantor class). I did see fall off for:

Bio-Diverse (30 fps)
Overgrown (20 fps)
Oceanic (15-20 fps)

It seems pretty consistent across different planets of the same type. I don't see any rendering fall off anywhere else -- at least so far. All other animations seem just fine, even multicolored jump points when viewed close-up.

Game settings are 1Gb Ram + 1Gb swap, Very High Detail, 2k textures, Faction textures on, Extreme Shader, 1920x1080, 32 bit full screen, accelerated visual on.

I'd imagine I could drop back resolution or whatever and things would self-correct, but then there's no worthwhile feedback on performance, is there?! :-)

Hope this is at all helpful.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:15 pm
by klauss
Interesting... the only difference between Bio-Diverse, Overgrown and Oceanic are the textures, the shaders are all the same, which would suggest your rig is bandwidth-limited at the GPU. I would've expected it to be ALU-limited at the GPU instead.

Good to know, whenever I have a chance to do some optimization (though I have done a lot of optimization already on those shaders).

I'd imagine earth would crawl (it has the highest res textures, and it has a parallax map, which increases bandwidth a helluva lot)

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 6:07 pm
by loki1950
I'll have quick look a Earth since I am in the Sol system currently.

Edit:no slow down at all with extreme detail,2048 textures,and extreme shaders
Enjoy the Choice :)

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 6:45 am
by pheonixstorm
Windows release information updated. Download and enjoy!

I've got a lot of catching up to do with post beta 2 changes as well as completing the win64 binary. I will try to get it finished as soon as I can, but no time frame on how long that will take...

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:14 pm
by klauss
Hey pheonix... Thanks.

Could you please document a bit how you build, are you using vega-vc9 or an adaptation of it? If so, can you commit your solution like vega-vc9 has been committed? It would help ease a bit your work.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:50 pm
by pheonixstorm
For trunk I just use the VC9 solution and make changes as needed then re-up to svn. Most builds for release are straight from the trunk svn, I also have an Inno setup script in trunk as well. Its a nifty free installer. Lots of features and options. Haven't used the Nullsoft installer before but may play around with it at some point since its rather popular even for commercial games. Will work (or try to) on getting a completed 64bit option working in the current solution as well as an updated solution file with any changes since the beta 2 release.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:02 pm
by klauss
Hey guys.. I got my hands on an XP machine, and tried the setup in sourceforge's download servers.

It fails to launch VS since it fails to launch the vc_redist installation program. Since this XP machine is not used for developmnt, it lacks all those libraries that have to be installed through the vc_redist program.

Is it possible to make the install script run it as a final step, before launching VS?

The prorgams menu also needs a link to setup.

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 12:26 am
by pheonixstorm
I'll check into it.

What are the specs for that machine?