svn revisions ???

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.
Amzolt
Trader
Trader

svn revisions ???

Post by Amzolt »

I'm brand new to VS and Loving it 8)

I have Version 0.4.3 but noticed, while cruising this forum, folks talking about svn revisions.

Is there a better Version than 0.4.3 now and how do "svn revisions" differ from software "Versions"??
segfault
Merchant
Merchant

Re: svn revisions ???

Post by segfault »

I am not a VS dev but will answer in general terms:
the "SVN version" is the most current, up-to-date version of the code.
"SVN" stands for "Subversion" which is a type of source control repository.
So by downloading and compiling the "SVN version" of the code, means you are getting the latest code changes.
Means you'll see all the new things folks are working diligently on, bu may also see some added bugs :P
I run SVN and it seems to work great... although do not have sound effects working properly (My system has an issue with openal support me thinks).

On the VegaStrike Wiki you can find the info needed to download and compile the SVN code:
http://vegastrike.sourceforge.net/wiki/ ... ode_HowTos
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite

Post by pheonixstorm »

The latest release version is 0.5.1 beta 1 which you can find here. There have been a lot of graphics changes since .4.3 Not sure what else has changed though, probably some data changes as well. I know there are new ships but little else.

The current svn version isn't much different from .5.1 beta 1, just some addition bug fixes and soon to be some additional ships. You can check the newest release time thread in the Developer Focus forum for whats in store for the beta 2 release.