red damage feedback stuck, crash

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.
Dolphin
Trader
Trader

red damage feedback stuck, crash

Post by Dolphin »

I've got a few problems that I thought I'd post to user help rather than bug triage because I am new to using SVN and wouldn't be surprised if these were due to some problem on my part.

Since I got past the initial game startup problems, I've noticed a couple problems that didn't exist in 0.50.

1) When in battle, sometimes I find the red glow that everything takes on when you are taking damage gets stuck. When this happens, everything looks slightly red, and this persists until I restart vegastrike.

2) Sometimes when I attack a large ship, the game crashes as I destroy it. I see the initial explosion, and then the game does down. This seems to happen most of the time for Aera capital ships, but not for their small ones.

I do like some of the additions since 0.50, particularly the update that makes planetary rings hide correctly when behind the planet.

Thanks!
klauss
Elite
Elite

Re: red damage feedback stuck, crash

Post by klauss »

Dolphin wrote:1) When in battle, sometimes I find the red glow that everything takes on when you are taking damage gets stuck. When this happens, everything looks slightly red, and this persists until I restart vegastrike.
That should be fixed in the latest revision, though there isn't a windows binary built with that fix yet IIRC.
Dolphin wrote:2) Sometimes when I attack a large ship, the game crashes as I destroy it. I see the initial explosion, and then the game does down. This seems to happen most of the time for Aera capital ships, but not for their small ones.
Haven't heared this one before.
If you wish to debug a bit, you could download a free debugger, like OllyDbg or WinDbg, and post a stacktrace to let us know what precisely happened that cause the crash.