0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Just downloaded Vega Strike and need help? Have a question but don't know where to start? Ask here.

0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Mon Jan 30, 2012 10:37 am

0.5.1 beta2 release is out the door.

We'll receive bug reports, as usual, and if enough is fixed to warrant an 0.5.1 rc1 we'll be releasing a release-candidate before the final release is made. However, I'm confident we'll be able to go directly to the final release :D

We're using OpenSUSE's Build Service (OBS for short), and the packages are there already, so if you installed from OBS you should be able to update rather easily (hopefully, even with delta rpms :D ) - not all repos have been tested, so if you're on one of the unlucky ones to spot a packaging bug, please post on the bug tracker ASAP.

vegastrike-music was unchanged so you don't have to update. If you're installing from scratch, just install the 0.5.1.beta1 version - it works just fine.

Linux

You can look for the packages in OBS' search interface, or you can set up the repos from the urls below (which is the best way to get updates):

For the most popular linux distros (available in OBS), we have zypper/deb repos:

Other distros

If your distro is not on the list, source tar balls and data packages can be downloaded directly from sourceforge:


Instructions for building from source and installing data from the tarballs in your home folder would go like this, assuming you've downloaded the pertinent tarballs and dependencies already:

Code: Select all
~$ mkdir vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2
~$ tar xvjf vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2
~$ cd vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2$ mkdir build
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2$ cd build
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ cmake ..
...
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ make
...
~/vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build$ cd ../../vegastrike-0.5.1.beta1
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ mkdir bin
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ cp ../vegastrike-src-0.5.1.beta2/build/{vegastrike,vegaserver,setup/vssetup,objconv/mesh_tool} bin/.
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvjf ../vegastrike-data-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2 --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvjf ../vegastrike-extra-0.5.1.beta2.tar.bz2 --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvf ../vegastrike-music-0.5.1.beta2.tar --strip-components=1
...
~/vegastrike-0.5.1.beta2$ tar xvf ../vegastrike-speech-0.5.1.beta2.tar --strip-components=1
...


You can obviously skip the unpacking of the optional download packs.

Windows

Windows Installer now up for download! You can download from SourceForge download area.

Important notice: the win64 version is not actually released on SVN yet. The VC9 solution for compiling the 64bit vegastrike binary needs to be finished first. Some dlls have been compiled for the new 64bit exe but the process is not complete.

Bug reports

Many distros (not all) have a vegastrike-debuginfo or vegastrike-dbg package you can use to install debugging info and provide better stacktraces for bug reporting - please, when reporting a crash-type bug, install that package and run vegastrike through gdb:

Code: Select all
$ gdb --args vegastrike --debug=3 2>stderr.txt
(gdb) run
...
Segmentation Fault
(gdb) bt full
<paste this in your bug report>


Also include all information about which distro and platform you're running, GPU brand and model, driver versions, the output of the "glxinfo" command, the captured output of vegastrike itself (stderr.txt from the above commands), all of which could potentially include useful information for tracking down the bugs.
Last edited by klauss on Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:49 am, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: Un-globalled, gonna announce the final release
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Share On:

Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter Share on Digg Digg

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby log0 » Tue Jan 31, 2012 2:19 am

Running on intel with ps2.0 shaders, thanks :)
log0
 

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:06 pm

I've been sick as have the kids. I'm working on getting a windows release out hopefully today. Will also try to compile a changelog as well.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1563
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Wed Feb 01, 2012 4:42 pm

The changelog is done already, it goes like this:

  • Intel MESA DRI fixes
  • Fixed beam weapons
  • Fixed repair bot levels
  • Cargo mules - allow cargo inside fleet vessels
  • Offline Vertex de-duplication by mesh_tool
  • Fixed "-d" option, supporting alternate data dirs
  • Set correct unit for cargo on vdu manifest.
    Should be m^3 for cubic meters, not m^2.
  • navcomputer enhancements
  • python module cleanups
  • vdu panel backdrops to improve panel readability
  • shader fixes, especially for intel gpus
  • new cargo and weapon images
  • Fixed broken normals for several units
  • Normalmaps for most units
  • Some smaller fixes and enhancements and code cleanup
  • Patches #3211661, #3250877, #3353864, #3353868, #3376191,
    #3376207, #3373653, #3373650, #3372844, #3373595, #3373583,
    #3438260, #3372847, #3372846, #3372837, #3372839, #3372494,
    #3372591, #3372832, #2121764, #3211810, #3217829, #3286893 applied
  • Issues #3211697, #3315526, #3413675, #3413685, #3434184,
    #3440480, #3440493, #3441556, #3311033, #3462191, #3325181,
    #3191110, #3473367, #3325177, #3208662, #3325183, #3395671,
    #3306551, #3429854, #3325182, #3325698, #3199009, #3191110
    #3471044, #3376610, #3442608, #3465565 fixed
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Nexusforever » Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:43 pm

Question:

Why wouldn't you use alien to convert some of the RPM packages to DEB packages, just host the DEB packages on your servers, and leave the RPM packages on the OBS servers?
Nexusforever
Atmospheric Pilot
Atmospheric Pilot
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:31 pm
Location: Everywhere and Nowhere. *.*.*.*

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby pheonixstorm » Wed Feb 01, 2012 5:53 pm

klauss wrote:The changelog is done already, it goes like this:

  • Intel MESA DRI fixes
  • Fixed beam weapons
  • Fixed repair bot levels
  • Cargo mules - allow cargo inside fleet vessels
  • Offline Vertex de-duplication by mesh_tool
  • Fixed "-d" option, supporting alternate data dirs
  • Set correct unit for cargo on vdu manifest.
    Should be m^3 for cubic meters, not m^2.
  • navcomputer enhancements
  • python module cleanups
  • vdu panel backdrops to improve panel readability
  • shader fixes, especially for intel gpus
  • new cargo and weapon images
  • Fixed broken normals for several units
  • Normalmaps for most units
  • Some smaller fixes and enhancements and code cleanup
  • Patches #3211661, #3250877, #3353864, #3353868, #3376191,
    #3376207, #3373653, #3373650, #3372844, #3373595, #3373583,
    #3438260, #3372847, #3372846, #3372837, #3372839, #3372494,
    #3372591, #3372832, #2121764, #3211810, #3217829, #3286893 applied
  • Issues #3211697, #3315526, #3413675, #3413685, #3434184,
    #3440480, #3440493, #3441556, #3311033, #3462191, #3325181,
    #3191110, #3473367, #3325177, #3208662, #3325183, #3395671,
    #3306551, #3429854, #3325182, #3325698, #3199009, #3191110
    #3471044, #3376610, #3442608, #3465565 fixed


Yeah I saw the list, but I was going to expand the issue # xxx and acually give a little detail and see if anything was missed.

Something more like
Graphics
* Fix normals for MK32 BS
* Fixed yadda
yadda yadda

Anyway, may just leave it as you have it.. either way, i've got a new compile for VStrike, VServer (did not like adding the new flykb_server file) and VSetup. Just need to build the installer now.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1563
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:01 pm

Nexusforever wrote:Question:

Why wouldn't you use alien to convert some of the RPM packages to DEB packages, just host the DEB packages on your servers, and leave the RPM packages on the OBS servers?

Because obs handles it just fine, and different distributions use different paths. It's especially true in dfbian. And, soon, obs will even generate deltas.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Gungnir » Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:21 pm

Intel MESA DRI fixes


YES! I'll try this ASAP.

Unfortunately, Apper is failing at life right now, so it'll be a little while.
~Gungnir

segfault wrote:if I was actually in space I'd totally be throwing on autopilot and relaxing in the back during the trip, sipping space wine and listening (rlaan?) jazz.


Rig: i5 2500k @ 5ghz, 2x OCZ Agility 3 120gb SSD boot drives, AMD Radeon HD 7950 @ 1100/1575 (Catalyst 12.1 Linux and 12.3 Windows), dual-boot Fedora 16 KDE and Windows 7 Pro
User avatar
Gungnir
Mercenary
Mercenary
 
Posts: 98
Topics: 2
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Blackbeard » Sat Feb 04, 2012 4:17 am

Downloaded the win32 module this morning. :D

However it didn't come with the data, maybe I got it from the wrong place? I downloaded win32 from the sourceforge repository here. As I had an earlier subversion on another machine from a few weeks back I copied the data directory onto my computer via usb drive. The box I copied from was a linux, whereas my box is a win 7, so apart from being a month or so old, could this cause any problems?

Anyway, I've played it for a few hours and I was pleasantly surprised to note that bounty hunting was much more profitable. :twisted: However after a bit it got a little boring, but maybe that's because I'm such an awesome pilot. :wink: Capital ships like Thales are much more of a challenge than before, they actually use their guns now. :shock: This was a bit of a surprise, but I was able to come out on top in a 3-1 battle against some pirate Thales in my Llama.begin... then I came off worst after a scrap with a fourth. :(

But after playing 0.5.0, it's quite a fun experience :). So thanks very much guys. :D
Blackbeard
Merchant
Merchant
 
Posts: 38
Topics: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 9:51 pm
Location: Great Southern region, Western Australia

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:04 am

Any news on the windows front?
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Mr. Fahrenheit » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:06 am

If you mean 'windows feedback in general'...

I've goofed around with the 32-bit release on Windows 7 64-bit, and it seems very stable. My system is a Q6600 intel (4 core), 8Gb ram, let's say an Nvidia 9600gt (or something) graphics card.

Off the top of my head:

No more issues with processor affinity, previously I ran things from a command-prompt shortcut to prevent processor hand off (which made the game crash), that is no longer necessary.

Overall, startup time seems much quicker.

When mucking around near planets, there seems to be a pretty large framerate drop off if there are animated cloud patterns.

I have (once) encountered a bounty target stuck at the heart of a planet. For giggles I tried actually reaching it, but blew up: I assume when I struck the planet / atmosphere / arbitrary "you're dead" boundary.

I don't think I have had a single crash using the 0.5beta2 release. So kudos all!
Mr. Fahrenheit
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 26
Topics: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:06 am

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:17 am

Mr. Fahrenheit wrote:When mucking around near planets, there seems to be a pretty large framerate drop off if there are animated cloud patterns.


I'm guessing you're using extreme shader and detail?

I would imagine a 9600 should be able to handle at least highest shader with good frame rates. I remember, back when my 9800 hadn't caught on fire yet, it handled extreme without much fuss. Maybe a tad low on FPS, but that was expected as 9800 is high end but old.

Comparing specs, at extreme shader and unlimited textures, I'd guesstimate the 9600 should do around 10fps... right?
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Mr. Fahrenheit » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:02 pm

Yup, good guesstimate. Somewhere between 10 & 20 fps IIRC. I'll try and find an appropriate cloudy planet and double check.

Some of the refactored graphics look really nice too.

One other thing I just remembered: a suggestion might be to change how the HUD scales to larger screens. While the slightly-contrasted transparent boxes help with visibility, they end up eating a lot of real estate as the screen size increases (think I am running 1900x1080). --But that is not a windows-specific thing I am sure.

Again, overall stability seems really good to me.
Mr. Fahrenheit
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 26
Topics: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:06 am

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby loki1950 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:08 pm

(think I am running 1900x1080)


That would be 1920x1080 :wink: and I run a 9800 gt and have no slow downs with the extreme shaders and your observation on the the VDU screens on the HUD are right on.And I don't think that much thought was given on how they scale as they can be moved about the screen quite easily and some dropped completely as they are controlled by the cockpit file folders ATM we use the disabled cockpit the files and their various functions can be found on the wiki so if you feel the urge go ahead and tweak all you have to do is keep a back up of any file you edit.

Enjoy the Choice :)
my box:Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/2 G ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb fedora 20 Win 7 acer S243HL X193W
amd XP1800 on a asusA7N8x/ 789Mb ram/ sda 120 Gb ntfs sdb 80 Gb ext3 (fedora 10) gForce 6800 gt 128 Mb
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5505
Topics: 50
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:14 pm

Yes, fluid cockpit layouts would be nice, but that would be a major new feature for 0.5.2 at least.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Mac help, please

Postby betelgeuse » Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:20 am

Hello,

I really love this game, and I've been playing it off and on for a couple years. Great work!

Can I download the beta 2 for my Mac? It appears to only download a 0.5.0 version still.
betelgeuse
Insys Pilot
Insys Pilot
 
Posts: 2
Topics: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 1:09 am

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:17 am

I'm trying to recruit some mac lovers to do the building, but I've had no luck yet.

At the moment, mac users will be forced to build from source.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby Mr. Fahrenheit » Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:04 am

>> That would be 1920x1080 and I run a 9800 gt and have no slow downs with the extreme shaders

I finally had a chance to fly around for a bit (and also found those missing 20 pixels :wink: ) and here's what I found, as far as FPS around various planets:

Confirmed that most planets cause no fall off in rendering, and I maintain somewhere around 60 fps all the way until docked (includes types like University, Arid Methane, Trantor class). I did see fall off for:

Bio-Diverse (30 fps)
Overgrown (20 fps)
Oceanic (15-20 fps)

It seems pretty consistent across different planets of the same type. I don't see any rendering fall off anywhere else -- at least so far. All other animations seem just fine, even multicolored jump points when viewed close-up.

Game settings are 1Gb Ram + 1Gb swap, Very High Detail, 2k textures, Faction textures on, Extreme Shader, 1920x1080, 32 bit full screen, accelerated visual on.

I'd imagine I could drop back resolution or whatever and things would self-correct, but then there's no worthwhile feedback on performance, is there?! :-)

Hope this is at all helpful.
Mr. Fahrenheit
Trader
Trader
 
Posts: 26
Topics: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 9:06 am

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Wed Feb 29, 2012 9:15 am

Interesting... the only difference between Bio-Diverse, Overgrown and Oceanic are the textures, the shaders are all the same, which would suggest your rig is bandwidth-limited at the GPU. I would've expected it to be ALU-limited at the GPU instead.

Good to know, whenever I have a chance to do some optimization (though I have done a lot of optimization already on those shaders).

I'd imagine earth would crawl (it has the highest res textures, and it has a parallax map, which increases bandwidth a helluva lot)
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby loki1950 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:07 am

I'll have quick look a Earth since I am in the Sol system currently.

Edit:no slow down at all with extreme detail,2048 textures,and extreme shaders
Enjoy the Choice :)
my box:Q8200/Asus P5QDLX/2 G ram/WD 2Tb 2-500 G HD/GF GT640 2Gb fedora 20 Win 7 acer S243HL X193W
amd XP1800 on a asusA7N8x/ 789Mb ram/ sda 120 Gb ntfs sdb 80 Gb ext3 (fedora 10) gForce 6800 gt 128 Mb
User avatar
loki1950
The Shepherd
 
Posts: 5505
Topics: 50
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:37 pm
Location: Ottawa

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby pheonixstorm » Sat Mar 03, 2012 11:45 pm

Windows release information updated. Download and enjoy!

I've got a lot of catching up to do with post beta 2 changes as well as completing the win64 binary. I will try to get it finished as soon as I can, but no time frame on how long that will take...
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1563
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:14 pm

Hey pheonix... Thanks.

Could you please document a bit how you build, are you using vega-vc9 or an adaptation of it? If so, can you commit your solution like vega-vc9 has been committed? It would help ease a bit your work.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby pheonixstorm » Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:50 pm

For trunk I just use the VC9 solution and make changes as needed then re-up to svn. Most builds for release are straight from the trunk svn, I also have an Inno setup script in trunk as well. Its a nifty free installer. Lots of features and options. Haven't used the Nullsoft installer before but may play around with it at some point since its rather popular even for commercial games. Will work (or try to) on getting a completed 64bit option working in the current solution as well as an updated solution file with any changes since the beta 2 release.
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1563
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby klauss » Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:02 pm

Hey guys.. I got my hands on an XP machine, and tried the setup in sourceforge's download servers.

It fails to launch VS since it fails to launch the vc_redist installation program. Since this XP machine is not used for developmnt, it lacks all those libraries that have to be installed through the vc_redist program.

Is it possible to make the install script run it as a final step, before launching VS?

The prorgams menu also needs a link to setup.
Oíd mortales, el grito sagrado...
Call me "Menes, lord of Cats"
Wing Commander Universe
User avatar
klauss
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 7251
Topics: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 7:40 am
Location: LS87, Buenos Aires, República Argentina

Re: 0.5.1 beta2 release (yep, beta 2)

Postby pheonixstorm » Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:26 pm

I'll check into it.

What are the specs for that machine?
Because of YOU Arbiter, MY kids? can't get enough gas. OR NIPPLE! How does that mkae you feeeel? ~ Halo
User avatar
pheonixstorm
Elite
Elite
 
Posts: 1563
Topics: 113
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 7:03 pm


Next

Return to User Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest